Sign in to follow this  
RetroDefense

Variant Covers display?

RetroDefense    136

With all the variant cover talk here lately (Nintendo Power #1 and the four EGM anniversary covers), I thought I'd suggest associating variant covers with their database entry. Would this be possible? Kind of like the planned association of supplements, posters, etc.

I know it's possible to upload variant covers to the Gallery, but it'd be cool if these would show up when viewing the issue's database entry. Maybe a thumbnail cover Gallery or something similar?

Areala    25,516

I'm not a programmer, but a little Java applet that would rotate through a selection of image thumbnails might work for this? It would mean altering the database a bit and offering up the option to upload variant covers, but it doesn't seem like it should be too hard. :)

*huggles*
Areala

RetroDefense    136

From the outside looking in, I'd say it would be a matter of adding a new database field, then updating the Wiki form with a new text field. Probably the easiest way to handle the data - and staying consist with the current way of associating images - is to request a comma delimited list of cover IDs. Then just verify this data with form submission (is number, is valid list, do covers actually exist, etc), write to dbase, and you're golden!

A rotation would be nice, but personally, I'd really like to see them displayed side-by-side, just to compare. But a rotation fader would be cool with some variants - have everything aligned just right and the EGM logo would look like it was changing before your very eyes. :)

Phillyman    403

This is one of my things that I would like to see in the database, but I need to figure out how best to do it. Some magazines have upwards of 4-6 cover variants, plus we still need to also find a way to display posters, CDs and supplements.

RetroDefense    136