Leaderboard


Popular Content

Showing content with the highest reputation since 08/16/2018 in all areas

  1. 11 points

    Version 1.0.0

    397 downloads

    このスキャンは皆のために作ったので、ぜひダウンロードして、友達に伝いて、楽しんでください!もしほかのところでこのスキャンを分け合ったら、「このファイルはRetromagsからで、そこで誰でもでタダでダウンロードすることできる」と伝いて下さい。雑誌電子化は皆のために。よろしくお願いします! * Thanks to ccovell for donating the issue. Also the gavas bucks page was missing, so he provided a scan of that page to make the mag complete. For anyone who missed it in my forum thread, Gavas were a big scam run by Famitsu to trick kids into thinking they could win fabulous prizes by buying every issue of Famitsu that hit the stands. Below is a closer look at just how impossible getting those prizes actually was. Listed are the prize, the amount of Gavas needed to win the prize, the number of Famitsu issues you would need to purchase in order to have enough Gavas, and approximately how much that many issues of Famitsu would cost. These are all in 1988 dollars, so it would be much more today. As of May 1988 (these are not all of the prizes, btw): A Famitsu Pencil Case - 780 Gavas - 49 issues - approx. $195 A Famitsu T-Shirt - 1680 Gavas - 105 issues - approx. $420 A Famicom Game - 2900 Gavas - 182 issues - approx. $728 A Famicom System - 9800 Gavas - 613 issues - approx. $2,452 A Sega Master System - 11200 Gavas - 700 issues - approx. $2,800 A PC Engine (TurboGrafx16) System - 16500 Gavas - 1,032 issues - approx. $4,128 It should also be worth noting that Famitsu was bi-weekly at this point. So assuming you really wanted that PC Engine and you bought one copy of every issue that hit the stands, you would expect to finally have enough Gavas approximately... 38 years later. So...sometime in 2026. Of course, Famitsu eventually went weekly, of course, so you actually would have been able to finally get that PC Engine sometime in 2009. Well, except that PC Engines had long since ceased production by then. *This scan was made for everyone, so please download it, share it with your friends and enjoy! If you share this scan elsewhere, please say that the file is from Retromags, where anyone can download it for free. Magazine preservation is for everyone. Thank you!
  2. 8 points

    214 downloads

    GamePro Issue 146 (November 2000)
  3. 8 points

    190 downloads

    GamePro Issue 144 (September 2000)
  4. 8 points

    136 downloads

    VideoGames The Ultimate Gaming Magazine Issue 56 (September 1993)
  5. 7 points

    130 downloads

    GamePro Issue 182 (November 2003)
  6. 7 points

    133 downloads

    Game Player's Issue 11 Volume 2 Number 5 (May 1990)
  7. 7 points

    145 downloads

    GamePro Issue 168 (September 2002)
  8. 7 points

    119 downloads

    Tips & Tricks Issue 078 (August 2001)
  9. 6 points

    93 downloads

    GamePro Issue 187 (April 2004)
  10. 6 points

    Version 1.0.0

    50 downloads

    This supplement focuses exclusively on bishoujo games for the PS2 and PlayStation. このスキャンは皆のために作ったので、ぜひダウンロードをして、友達に伝いて、楽しんでください!もしほかのところでこのスキャンを分け合ったら、そこで「このファイルはRetromagsからで、そこでタダでダウンロードすることできる」と伝いて下さい。雑誌電子化は皆のために。よろしくお願いします! This scan was made for everyone, so please download it, share it with your friends and enjoy! If you share this scan elsewhere, please say that the file came from Retromags, where anyone can download it for free. Magazine preservation is for everyone. Thank you!
  11. 6 points

    108 downloads

    Tips & Tricks Issue 077 (July 2001)
  12. 6 points

    144 downloads

    Tips & Tricks Issue 043 (September 1998)
  13. 5 points

    Version 1.0.0

    85 downloads

    112 pgs
  14. 5 points

    Version 1.1.0

    145 downloads

    A Mortal Kombat II kollector's magazine produced by Electronic Gaming Monthly, the fourth of a four issue series. Released February 1995.
  15. 5 points

    Version 1.0.0

    156 downloads

    S.W.A.T.Pro Issue 25 (September 1995)
  16. 4 points

    54 downloads

    This scan was made for everyone, so please download it, share it with your friends and enjoy! If you share this scan elsewhere, please say that the file came from Retromags, where anyone can download it for free. Magazine preservation is for everyone. Thank you!
  17. 4 points

    Version 1.0.0

    69 downloads

    *このスキャンは皆のために作ったので、ぜひダウンロードして、友達に伝いて、楽しんでください!もしほかのところでこのスキャンを分け合ったら、「このファイルはRetromagsからで、そこで誰でもでタダでダウンロードすることできる」と伝いて下さい。雑誌電子化は皆のために。よろしくお願いします! This file has been edited and saved at a constant height of 2700px. For the raw 600dpi source file, please visit https://archive.org/details/@japanesemagazinesscanproject PLEASE NOTE: Gamest is printed in right-to-left Japanese reading style. If viewing two pages at a time, you will need to set your CBR reader to Japanese mode so that the pages will display in the correct order. *This scan was made for everyone, so please download it, share it with your friends and enjoy! If you share this scan elsewhere, please say that the file is from Retromags, where anyone can download it for free. Magazine preservation is for everyone. Thank you!
  18. 4 points

    64 downloads

    Q64 1999 Volume 2 (Summer)
  19. 4 points

    72 downloads

    Q64 1998 Volume 3 (Fall)
  20. 3 points
    Relevant for this thread, I found Gamest Issue #125 and uploaded it to archive. This issue came with a poster which I don't believe is scanned. I believe this is a regular issue of Gamest much in the same way the previous SFII issue was dedicated to one game. I think later one they spun these issues off into the "Gamest Mook" line. If you check archive there's other issues of Gamest and Gamest mook floating around archive. https://archive.org/details/Gamest125Gokujuparodiusspecialissue
  21. 3 points

    Version 1.0.0

    99 downloads

    このスキャンは皆のために作ったので、ぜひダウンロードして、友達に伝いて、楽しんでください!もしほかのところでこのスキャンを分け合ったら、「このファイルはRetromagsからで、そこで誰でもでタダでダウンロードすることできる」と伝いて下さい。雑誌電子化は皆のために。よろしくお願いします! * This guide covers the first two games in the SD Gundam: Gachapon Senshi series of strategy games from Bandai. SD Gundam World: Gachapon Senshi - Scramble Wars was released for the Famicom in November 1987. SD Gundam World: Gachapon Senshi 2 - Capsule Senki was released for the Famicom June 25, 1989. PLEASE NOTE: This guide is printed Japanese style (from left to right), so if you are viewing two pages at a time, you will need to set your CBR reader to "Japanese mode" so that the pages will be displayed in the correct order. If you are viewing a single page at a time this will not be necessary. *This scan was made for everyone, so please download it, share it with your friends and enjoy! If you share this scan elsewhere, please say that the file is from Retromags, where anyone can download it for free. Magazine preservation is for everyone. Thank you!
  22. 3 points
    Retromags Presents! Family Computer Magazine Issue 056 (May 6, 1988) Database Record Download Directly! Scanned By: kitsunebi77    Edited By: kitsunebi77    Uploaded By: kitsunebi77    Donated By: ccovell Subscribe to our New Release Feedburner email!  
  23. 3 points
    I have finished issue 27, August 14, 1983, the first issue under the new name Electronic Games Hotline: My archive is viewable here: http://vgpavilion.com/mags/1983/08/14egh/pages/ You'll find my CBZ and PDF along with a ZIP with the TIFF scans and PSD edits. I'll be getting to second issue of Electronic Games Hotline shortly.
  24. 3 points

    Version 1.0.0

    49 downloads

    Compute! Issue 049 Vol. 6 No. 6 (June 1984)
  25. 3 points
    Retromags Presents! Official U.S. Playstation Magazine February 2000  Database Entry! Download Directly! Thanks to Phillyman for scanning this issue (and to me for editing it!)
  26. 3 points
    Retromags Presents Downtown Nekketsu Koushinkyoku Soreyuke Daiundoukai - Hisshou tora no Maki Family Computer Magazine Issue 113 supplement October 19, 1990 Thanks to ccovell for donating this issue to be scanned! Database Entry Download Here
  27. 2 points
    Fleet Commander is a turn-based strategy game developed and published by ASCII for the Famicom on March 29, 1988.
  28. 2 points
  29. 2 points
    Scanning some more issues, hope to post them at least 1 each week for the coming weeks
  30. 2 points
    OK, this is a VERY basic tutorial, but I've seen this handled incorrectly before, so I'm putting this here to clear things up. You may be interested in adding a missing cover to our galleries/databases, or perhaps you want to add an advertisement scan to our gallery. Sure, you could do so by scanning your own magazine, but another option is to simply extract the image from a magazine file that has already been scanned and edited. This is how you do that. We've got a lot of magazines available to download here, and most of them are in CBR format. CBR is essentially exactly the same as a RAR file. Likewise, CBZ is the same as a ZIP file. All of these types of files are simply containers for whatever is inside of them, in this case, the JPGs that make up the magazine scan. To access the files, all you need to do is un-rar or un-zip the file and extract the desired image(s). There's no need to rename the extension - you can open a CBR directly using Win-RAR simply by right-clicking the CBR and selecting "open with Win-RAR archiver" (or whatever program you're using.) This is one of the reasons we prefer CBR over PDF - it allows easy access to the images inside using free programs. A PDF locks the images into a proprietary format owned by Adobe so that they can only be directly accessed if using the paid version of Adobe Acrobat which costs a minimum of $13 per month for the most basic version. Unless you happen to be an employee or stockholder of Adobe, most people would agree that having free and open access to the files is the preferable option. But Retromags isn't the only place offering scans, and a lot of other places out there provide their mags as PDFs. So what can you do if you want to extract an image from a PDF and don't subscribe to Adobe? There are a bunch of free online programs out there that will convert PDF to JPG for you, but most of them will compress the JPG output, giving you a lower quality file than what was originally contained in the PDF. I realize that this is where I should recommend a free program for you to use, but I honestly have never found one that can extract the JPGs from a PDF without reducing their quality (including many that claim to have "lossless" extraction.) Have I mentioned that I think PDF is a horrible format for anything that is intended to be shared freely (such as our scans)? It really limits what you can do should you wish to alter or edit the files. If anyone knows of a good program for converting PDFs to JPGs, feel free to comment. Of course, what I do to access the files is simply drop the PDF into Photoshop. Photoshop is also an Adobe product, and thus is capable of extracting the images without lowering their quality. (And of course, Photoshop ain't free, either.) However, if you happen to have Photoshop and decide to use it for this purpose, there is an important step you need to be aware of. When you drag and drop a PDF into Photoshop, you will get the following box, from which you can select the image(s) you want to extract: By default, "pages" will be selected in the top left. YOU DO NOT WANT THIS TO BE SELECTED. Opening a file this way will change the image dimensions to whatever size is selected in the boxes on the right. In this case, it would enlarge the image to a 300ppi size, even though the actual image is smaller than that. So much like transcoding a 128kbps MP3 into a 320kbps MP3, it simply enlarges the file's size without increasing its quality (in fact, the quality is lowered.) To accurately extract the images, YOU MUST SELECT "Images". This will open the image at exactly the same quality and size as the original image that was converted to PDF. To be fair, it IS possible that the images in the PDF were originally the same size as the resolution selected on the right. So for example, if an image was originally 300ppi, then the image would be the same regardless of whether "Pages" or "Images" was selected. But there's no way of knowing that unless you extract it both ways and compare, so you're safer just always using "Images." The exception to this is a "True PDF." This sort of PDF allows for images to be cut up and stored in a heavily compressed form, while keeping the text as perfectly crisp digital font. A True PDF will undoubtedly be a commercial or official release and is not something that would be created by a scanner. Trying to extract a page from a True PDF using "Images" is impossible, since a single page is often broken up into a dozen different images, each stored separately within the PDF and recompiled when opened in a PDF viewer. In this case, you would have to select "Pages" which will open all of the images that comprise a single page as one coherent image, much in the same way a PDF reader recompiles the pages. Just be aware that the size and resolution of that image as it will appear when opened in Photoshop is somewhat arbitrary and based upon whatever settings you have selected in the box on the right. As I said, the images on such pages are often very low quality, and the text is perfect quality, so there isn't actually a single "true" size or quality for a page in a True PDF (ironic, no?) Just keep in mind that since True PDFs almost always sacrifice quality for small filesizes, opening an image in "pages" with a high resolution like 300ppi selected is only going to enlarge a low resolution image, probably making it look even worse.
  31. 2 points
    The beginning of a new era! Download Section!
  32. 2 points
    Here's a guide for Sega's Ninja Burai Densetsu, a strategy game released in 1991 for the Mega Drive that is said to play very similarly to their Shining series. https://archive.org/details/NinjaBuraiDensetsuRanseNoHashaOfficialGuideBook
  33. 2 points
  34. 2 points

    726 downloads

    File imported by an administrator
  35. 2 points

    146 downloads

    File imported by an administrator
  36. 2 points

    587 downloads

    File imported by an administrator
  37. 1 point
    Issues 0-9 exist.
  38. 1 point
    I'm not sure whether this is one for RetroMags or not. Arcade Express was a bi-weekly newsletter from Electronic Games only available through the mail. Each issue was eight pages, two 11x17" pages folded in half. I was a subscriber for most of the run but have only come across part of my collection. I have gone ahead and made a RetroMags-formatted archive of the first issue I dug up: http://vgpavilion.com/mags/1983/01/30ae/Arcade-Express-Issue-013-Jan-30-1983.cbr This is Issue 13 from January 30, 1983. These are the issues I currently have in front of me: As Arcade Express Volume 1, Number 14 - February 13, 1983 Volume 1, Number 15 - February 27, 1983 Volume 1, Number 16 - March 13, 1983 Volume 1, Number 17 - March 27, 1983 Volume 1, Number 18 - April 10, 1983 Volume 1, Number 19 - April 24, 1983 Volume 1, Number 20 - May 8, 1983 Volume 1, Number 21 - May 22, 1983 Volume 1, Number 22 - June 5, 1983 Volume 1, Number 24 - July 3, 1983 As Electronic Games Hotline Volume 2, Number 1 - August 14, 1983 Volume 2, Number 2 - August 28, 1983 Volume 2, Number 7 - November 6, 1983 Volume 2, Number 9 - December 4, 1983 Volume 2, Number 10 - December 18, 1983 Volume 2, Number 14 - February 12, 1984 Volume 2, Number 26 - July 20, 1984 While mostly news they did do reviews. It's interesting to line up major announcements with when they appeared in Electronic Games magazine as a function of lead time. I haven't done any searching around the web for previous archival attempts but plan to scan the ones I have. Does this have a place here at RetroMags?
  39. 1 point
    Team: Retromags.com Date of last work unit 2019-05-27 21:20:03 Active CPUs within 50 days 14 Team Id 54458 Grand Score 132,408,951 Work Unit Count 47,023 Team Ranking 677 of 228615 Homepage http://www.retromags.com/ Fast Teampage URL https://apps.foldingathome.org/teamstats/team54458.html Team members Rank Name Credit WUs 7,133 Phillyman 49,190,672 32,142 7,049 Data 49,070,284 1,486 17,265 Toad 12,378,661 159 22,847 RENDERRAPIDLY.com 8,092,388 105 27,909 perfinpuz2 5,671,175 1,212 30,021 BMan 3,977,690 57 46,973 MBJ 2,119,250 9,156 69,630 TaiWolf 952,283 180 134,173 Areala 219,788 45 154,305 twiztor 159,220 146 129,462 kuaneos 139,127 722
  40. 1 point
    I thought I was through with Gundam. But when dealing with Japan, you can't ever be through with Gundam. For the PlayStation circa 2000: https://archive.org/details/MobileSuitGundamGihrensGreedBloodOfZeonConquestSideBook
  41. 1 point
    Yeah, I'm the opposite. In a way, I find video games to be the least interesting part of video game magazines. I'm more interested in the news articles, and editorial content like feature articles and reviews. Anything that's just matter-of-fact discussion or depiction of a game's contents like previews or strategy sections is something that I don't even look at. So although I used to have a "download everything under the sun" philosophy, I've since come to realize that full-on strategy guides are something I have zero interest in having in my collection, so I'm uploading them to the Internet Archive and then deleting them from my hard drive.
  42. 1 point
    Believe it or not, I sincerely hope there's more of these. Really, though, you guys went all out on this. Good work!
  43. 1 point
    I did research it, but I'll grant you I only spent about 20 minutes or so. What I gathered was that it was an algorithm that could fluctuate and adjust the amount of compression applied to any given image in order to maintain a quality where degradation would not be noticeable to the naked eye. If it's something more than that, I apologize. I wasn't trying to say anything negative about it. Maintaining visible quality and reducing filesize is what good compression does. When I said it reduced quality level, that was simply referring to the amount of compression using the terminology used by Photoshop, which is the editing tool I use. More compression = lower quality level (again, this is just terminology). It doesn't mean that a quality 7 will necessarily look any different from a quality 12, it means that a quality 7 has been compressed more. But whereas most of us tend to save every picture in a given project at a consistent compression level, Jpegmini can identify which images won't be noticeably compromised by applying more compression, thus acting as a "smart" compression tool that can compress each image in a project differently while maintaining a consistent quality level. Again, I apologize if the information I gathered has mislead me in this understanding. As for ginormous files at archive, I didn't see any files that were as large as 5 GB, but I hear ya. Regardless of whatever your download speed is, you're always stuck with whatever bottleneck is at the other end with IA, so sometimes their downloads can crawl. I usually won't download 600dpi scans at all, simply because I have no desire to store files that big permanently, and I'm too lazy and busy with other things to want to download it, unzip it, batch process it, rezip it........zzzzzz. The only reason I downloaded any of these Gamest issues was so I could edit them and put them up here in a format more people can appreciate.
  44. 1 point
    prepared and scanned a few neo geo freak issues, will upload during next days
  45. 1 point
  46. 1 point
    I use https://letsencrypt.org for my SSL certificates, they are free. If that can help reduce the ongoing retromags costs, even by a small margin, then great
  47. 1 point
  48. 1 point

    1,038 downloads

    File imported by an administrator
  49. 1 point
    Battle Gear 2 is a racing game developed and released by Taito for Japanese arcades in 2000.
  50. 1 point